ankara escort çankaya escort
Back

حرب أخرى في سنجار: سيف دامقليس

بتأريخ 3 أذار اندلعت اشتباكات بين القوات التابعة لحزب العمال الكوردستاني وقوات بيشمركة روزئافا التابعة للحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني قرب خاناسور في قضاء شنكال. تشير هذه الأحداث أكثر من اي وقت سابق الى الحاجة الى التوصل إلی  تسويات وحلول توفيقية بين حكومة اقليم كوردستان وحزب العمال الكوردستاني، وكذلك الى ضرورة توسط المجتمعات الدولية بنشاط.

انقر هنا لتنزيل الملخص السياسي

 

في صباح يوم الجمعة المصادف 3 أذار اندلعت اشتباكات بين وحدات المقاومة في سنجار والتابعة لحزب العمال الكوردستاني ووحدات بيشمركة روزئافا والتابعة للحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني المتمثلة بالكورد السوريين، وذلك في أثناء محاولة الأخير للدخول الى ناحية خاناسور الواقعة في الجهة الشمالية من قضاء شنكال. اندلعت اشتباكات مسلحة طويلة بين الجهتين والتي يُقال أنها أسفرت عن سبعة ضحايا وعدد من الجرحى. أتت هذه الاشتباكات في اليوم الذي تلا انتشار مايقارب من 500 مقاتل من بيشمركة روزئافا في سنوني والتي تخضع للسيطرة المشتركة لحكومة اقليم كوردستان وحزب العمال الكوردستاني، وقد تحركت قوات روژئافا إلى الغرب من المدينة، وذلك في محاولة لدخول مشارف خاناسور التي تخضع لسيطرة حزب العمال الكوردستاني. وحسب ماتُظهر الفيديوهات والصور من مشهد الاشتباكات فقد حفرت الجهتان خنادق. بينما يظل الموقف غير جلياً إلا أنه من الواضح بأن الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني أجرى محاولة لإقامة حضور مسلح في خاناسور. انتهت الاشتباكات في نفس اليوم وكانت هناك مفاوضات بين قادة البيشمركة في الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني وحزب العمال الكوردستاني في شنكال لتهدئة الوضع، وحسب مايُقال فقد اتفق الطرفان على وقف إطلاق النار. ومن المتوقع أن تستمر المحادثات بينهم.

كان قضاء شنكال مصدراً للاحتكاك بين حزب العمال الكوردستاني والحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني منذ آب 2014 وذلك عندما إنسحبت قوات البيشمركة من مواجهة تقدم تنظيم الدولة الاسلامية (داعش) ، الأمر الذي أدی إلی تقدم حزب العمال الكوردستاني بسرعة إلی سنجار لمساعدة اليزيدين. شرع حزب العمال الكوردستاني بعد ذلك في بناء هياكلها السياسية والإدارية في المنطقة، متحدية بذلك سلطات الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني في المنطقة. وفي محاولة لنشر قوات البيشمركة لروزئافا في خاناسور، والتي كانت تحت السيطرة الكاملة لحزب العمال الكوردستاني منذ 2014، علت دعوات مكثفة من حكومة اقليم كوردستان تطلب حزب العمال الكوردستاني سحب قواتها من قضاء شنكال.

الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني وبيشمركة روزئافا والرابط السوري

تعد قوات بيشمركة روزئافا جزءاً من قوات بيشمركة الزيرفاني، وبالتالي فهي تخضع لوزارة شؤون البيشمركة وبالنهاية الى رئيس اقليم كوردستان. تلقت قوات بيشمركة روزئافا تدريباتها من الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني والولايات المتحدة وهي مدعومة ايضاً من قبل تركيا. كما تؤكد دراسة باكس من أجل السلام، فإن قوات بيشمركة روزئافا متواجدة بالفعل في الأقضية الشمالية في 2016 ومنتشرة في عدة بقاع على طول الحدود السورية. لم يُسبب هذا الانتشار أية مشاكل رئيسة وذلك لأنهم بقوا غالباً خارج المناطق المسيطرة عليها من قبل حزب العمال الكوردستاني. ومن المستبعد جداً أن يكون قرار دخول خاناسور قد جاء بشكل مستقل من قبل قيادة الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني وذلك بالنظر الى خط الأوامر التي تتبعها بيشمركة روزئافا.

ترتبط قوات بيشمركة روزئافا بحزب المعارضة الكوردية وهو المجلس الوطني الكوردي تحت قيادة ابراهيم بيرو الذي لديه علاقات وثيقة مع الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني، وبالتالي فإن هذه القوات تعارض حزب العمال الكوردستاني في سوريا. يتراوح عدد أفراد المقاتلين والمعلن عنه بين 3000-7000 مقاتل. وكانت هناك عدة محاولات قادها الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني للوصول الى اتفاقية لتقاسم السلطة بين المجلس الوطني الكوردي وإدارة روزئافا (حزيران 2012، كانون الأول 2013، تشرين الأول 2014) ولكن لم يتم تحقيق أياً من هذه المحاولات. في الأونة الأخيرة، كانت هناك مفاوضات متجددة حول انتشار قوات بيشمركة روزئافا في سوريا. وحالياً يتواجد رئيس المجلس الوطني الكوردي ابراهيم بيرو في الولايات المتحدة للتفاوض بشأن هذه المسألة. وسابقاً قيل بأن الولايات المتحدة كانت لديها تحفظات بخصوص انتشار قوات بيشمركة روزئافا، وكذلك خوفاً من الاقتتال الداخلي بين القوات التابعة لحزب العمال الكوردستاني التي تدعمها في سوريا وقوات بيشمركة روزئافا. عارضت إدارة روزئافا بطبيعة الحال هكذا خطط وذلك لأنها ستتحدى احتكارها للسلطة في المنطقة. ومن جهة اخرى، صرحت الولايات المتحدة في كانون الأول الماضي بأن حزب العمال الكوردستاني ‘لاينبغي أن يكون له دور في شنكال’، وذلك من دون الاشارة بشكل مباشر الى أعضاءهم المنتسبين. بالأضافة الى ذلك، يأتي هذا الانتشار بعد أيام من زيارة البارزاني لتركيا في 26-27 شباط. تعتبر أنقرة قوات بيشمركة روزئافا قوات صديقة وتنظر لها على أنها قوة موازنة لسيطرة حزب العمال الكوردستاني في شمال سوريا.

إن التنافس بين الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني وحزب العمال الكوردستاني (منذ التسعينات) كان وحتى الأن غير عنيفاً وترمز الاشتباكات في خاناسور على انها اولى تجلياتها العنيفة. تشير هذه الأحداث مرة اخرى الى الحاجة الى التوصل إلی حل تفاوضي تنتج  إجراءات سياسية بين حكومة اقليم كوردستان وحزب العمال الكوردستاني حول قضاء شنكال وذلك لأن احتمال وقوع مواجهة عسكرية اخرى بعد داعش يحلق فوق مخيلة الشعب اليزيدي الذي يدعي كل من الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني وحزب العمال الكوردستاني بأنهم يحمونهم، وهذا تناقض واضح وصريح . ومع ذلك، فالمنافسة ترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بسوريا والتي ترغب فيها الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني أن تتحدى احتكار حزب العمال الكوردستاني، فيما يريد الأخير أن تظل هي القوة الوحيدة.

تواجد حزب العمال الكوردستاني في شنكال: حقيقة جديدة

بدأ حزب العمال الكوردستاني منذ أوائل 2015 ببناء نموذج حكم مشابه لروزئافا  في أجزاء من قضاء شنكال التي تقع تحت سيطرتها. وكما تقترح محادثات المؤلف مع اليزيدين، فإن الكثير من المجتمع اليزيدي يشعر بأنه تم خيانتهم من قبل حكومة إقليم كوردستان التي لم تبذل جهداً كافياً لحمايتهم من الفظائع التي ارتكبتها داعش بحقهم. بالنتيجة فقد وجدت فكرة حزب العمال الكوردستاني عن ‘الحكم الذاتي الديمقراطي’ لقضاء شنكال، والتي يحكم فيها اليزيديون ويدافعون عن أنفسهم، أرضية خصبة. وفي الأجزاء الغربية من القضاء بالأخص، بنى حزب العمال الكوردستاني هياكل لها سمات حکم تتراوح بين مجالس محلية وصولاً الى ‘إدارة الكانتونات’ المتجسدة في المجلس الإداري الذاتي، وحتى انها جندت الاسايش اي القوة الأمنية الداخلية. إن عبارة ‘الشنكال لليزيدين’ تتلقی إقبالاً إيجابياً داخل جزء كبير من السكان ومن حزب العمال الكوردستاني ممن يستخدمون نهج كسب القلوب والعقول بنجاح بدلاً من الإكراه. ومع ذلك، قد تثبت الايدولوجية اليسارية الراديكالية لحزب العمال الكوردستاني عدم توافق متزايد مع المجتمع اليزيدي المحافظ على المدى الطويل.

لقد استثمر حزب العمال الكوردستاني مقدار كبير من الطاقة في سبيل بناء هياكلها في شنكال ومن غير المحتمل انها ستقبل انسحاباً كاملاً من المنطقة. بالإضافة الى ذلك، وكما تقترح مقابلات المؤلف، يبدو أنها تتبع تأسيس قاعدة مستمرة في سلسلة جبال شنكال والتي تُشكل ملجأً أمناً للدفاع تطل على الحدود السورية- العراقية.

منع الحرب؟

وصف قائد حزب العمال الكوردستاني من شنكال، زكي شنكالي، الاشتباكات على أنها ليست ‘اقتتال داخلي’ بل أنها ‘حرب خيانة’. واقترحت قيادة حزب العمال الكوردستاني في بيان لها بأن القتال بدأ بعد زيارة الرئيس البارزاني الى تركيا، كما ووصف شنکالي قوات بيشمركة روزئافا بالوكلاء التركيين وتعهد بالدفاع عن اليزيدين ضدهم. يمكن أن يكون هذا التفسير مقبولاً داخل حزب العمال الكوردستاني ومتعاطفيه إلا انه من الصعب الحفاظ عليه من قبل غالبية السكان الكورد أو المجتمع الدولي. من جهته، يبدو بأن الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني سيبقی متمسكاً بخطاب رئيس الوزراء نيجيرفان بارزاني ودعواته لحزب العمال الكوردستاني في كانون الأول 2016 في مغادرة المنطقة تجنباً لحدوث مواجهة عسكرية في المنطقة. وقد أصدرت وزارة شؤون البيشمركة، والتي يديرها  الأن الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني، بياناً تحريضياً مؤكداً بأن قوات البيشمركة تتحرك وتنتشر أينما أرادت داخل اقليم كوردستان العراق، مشيراً الى قضاء شنكال (والذي وطبقاً للقانون العراقي ليس فعلاً جزءاً من اقليم كوردستان العراق). لم تصدر الحكومة في بغداد حتى الآن أية تعليقات بخصوص الأحداث في شنكال. مما لاشك فيه أن  تحريض القتال داخل ‘البيت الكوردي’ من قبل حزب العمال الكوردستاني و حزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني سيضع كليهما في موضع حرج من شأنه أن يٶدي إلی خسارة الدعم الواسع الذي يحضى به الحزبان.

التوصيات

بينما توجد هناك منافسة قوية بين الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني وحزب العمال الكوردستاني، إلا أن كلاهما قد يجدون من الصعب تبرير النزاع المفتوح على دوائرهم الانتخابية. وفي الواقع فان اتباع نفس المواقف المتصلبة أمر غير بناء ومجدي.

ينبغي على الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني أن يصل الى تفاهم بخصوص التواجد المترسخ والدعم الكبير لحزب العمال الكوردستاني، وأن يعي أنه لا يكمن إنهاء هذا الدعم والإقبال في ليلة وضحاها عن طريق استخدام القوة. وبالمثل، ينبغي على حزب العمال الكوردستاني أن يكون منفتحاً للتوصل إلی حلول عن طريق قبول التسويات مع الحزب الديمقراطي الكوردستاني. وهناك حاجة الى التوصل إلی إتفاق شامل ليس فقط حول شنكال وإنما أيضاً حول روزئافا يراعى فيه مصالح كلا الجانبين. وبالنظر إلى وجود عدم الثقة وشدة المصالح المتناقضة ، إلا أن الخوف من فقدان الدعم الشعبي لا يمثل دافعا أو حافزاً كافياً لحلحلة المشكلة دون تأجيجها.

وفي هذا الصدد، فإن الولايات المتحدة لديها موقف فريد من نوعه للتوسط والضغط على كلا الجانبين للتوصل إلی حل أو إتفاق وذلك لأن كلاً من حزب العمال الكوردستاني في سوريا وحكومة إقليم كوردستان هما حلفاءها الرئيسیين المناهضين لداعش في المنطقة. وقد انخرطت الولايات المتحدة بالفعل في هذا الأمر مرسلةً إشارات إلى كليهما بأن واشنطن لا ترغب في حصول مواجهات بينهما. وإذا كانت الولايات المتحدة ترغب في أن يركز حلفاؤها على محاربة داعش وتحقيق الاستقرار بدلاً من أن يصطدموا ببعضهم البعض، فينبغي تكثيف مثل هكذا جهود.

انقر هنا لتنزيل الملخص السياسي

 

 للإقتباس: Kaválek, T. (2017) Yet Another War in Shingal: The Sword of Damocles, MERI Policy Brief. vol. 4, no. 3.


الآراء الواردة في هذا المنشور تعکس آراء الكاتب وليس بالضرورة مٶسسة الشرق الأوسط للبحوث.

 

Comments are closed.

Back

Yet Another War in Shingal: The Sword of Damocles

On 3 March, clashes erupted between the PKK-linked forces and the KDP’s Rojava Peshmerga near Khanasor in the district of Shingal. These events now more than ever highlight the need for a negotiated compromise between the KRG and the PKK; and for the international community to actively intervene.

Download policy brief here

During the morning of Friday 3 March, clashes broke out between the PKK (Kurdistan Workers’ Party)-linked Sinjar Resistance Units (YBŞ) and the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP)-linked Rojava Peshmerga units consisting of Syrian Kurds, while the latter made an attempt to enter the town of Khanasor in the northern sub-district of Shingal district. Lengthy shootouts broke out between the two which reportedly resulted in seven casualties and a number of wounded combatants. The clashes broke out the day after some 500 Rojava Peshmerga were deployed in Sinuni, which is under shared control of the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) and the PKK and  moved west of the town,  making an attempt to enter nearby Khanasor, which is under the sole control of the PKK. As videos and photos from the scene of the clashes hint, both sides were already dug up in trenches. While the situation remains unclear, it is apparent that the KDP made an attempt to establish an armed presence in Khanasor. Clashes ended on the same day and there have been negotiations between the KDP Peshmerga commanders and the PKK in the town of Shingal to defuse the situation, both sides reportedly agreeing to a ceasefire. The talks are expected to continue.

The district of Shingal has been a source of friction between the PKK and the KDP since August 2014 when Peshmerga forces fled facing Islamic State’s (IS) advances and the PKK promptly came to aid the Yazidi population. The PKK subsequently began to build its political and governance structures in the area, challenging KDP’s authority. An attempt to deploy Rojava Peshmerga in Khanasor, which has been under the full control of the PKK since 2014, occurred after intensifying calls from the KRG for the PKK to withdraw its forces from the Shingal district.

KDP, Rojava Peshmerga and Syrian Connection

Rojava Peshmerga are a part of the Zerevani Peshmerga, thus answering to the Ministry of Peshmerga and ultimately to the president of KRI. The force has been receiving training from the KDP and the US, and are also backed by Turkey. As PAX for Peace asserts, Rojava Peshmerga have already been present in the northern sub-district in 2016, being deployed in several spots alongside the Syrian border. This deployment did not cause any major problems since they mostly stayed out of the PKK control areas. Given the command line of the Rojava Peshmerga, it is highly unlikely that the decision to enter Khanasor came independently from the KDP leadership.

The Rojava Peshmerga are tied to the Syrian Kurdish opposition party Kurdish National Council (KNC) led by Ibrahim Biro, which has close ties to the KDP, and thus stands in opposition to the PKK in Syria. Their declared manpower is 30007000 fighters. There have been several attempts to reach a power-sharing agreement between the KNC and Rojava administration sponsored by the KDP (June 2012, December 2013 and October 2014) but none of these materialised. Recently, there have been renewed negotiations about Rojava Peshmerga deployment in Syria. Currently, the KNC chairman Ibrahim Biro is in the US to negotiate on the matter. Previously, it was reported that the US has had reservations regarding Rojava Peshmerga deployment, also fearing infighting between the PKK-linked forces it supports in Syria, and the Rojava Peshmerga. Rojava administration has naturally opposed such plans since it would challenge their monopoly. On the other hand, the US said in December that the PKK ‘should have no role in Shingal’, however, without referring directly to their affiliates.  Moreover, the deployment comes days after president Barzani’s visit to Turkey on 26-27 February. Ankara considers Rojava Peshmerga a friendly force and views it as a useful counterweight to PKK’s dominance in northern Syria.

The rivalry between the KDP and the PKK has so far (since the 1990s) been non-violent and clashes in Khanasor mark its first violent manifestation. These events once again highlight the need for a negotiated solution of political arrangements between the KRG and the PKK for the Shingal district since the prospect of yet another armed confrontation after IS hangs over the Yazidi population, which ironically both the KDP and the PKK claim to protect. The competition is, however, intimately connected to Syria, where the KDP wishes to challenge the monopoly of the PKK, while the PKK wants to remain the sole force.

The PKK’s Presence in Shingal: A New Reality

Since early 2015, the PKK began to build a similar governance model in the parts of Shingal district under its control as we see in Rojava. As the author’s conversations with Yazidis suggest, many within the community feel that they were betrayed by the KRG which did not make enough effort to protect them from IS atrocities. As a result, PKK’s idea of ‘democratic autonomy’ for the Shingal district in which Yazidis rule and defend themselves found fertile ground. Especially in the western parts of the district, the PKK built governance structures ranging from local councils up to ‘cantonal administration’ embodied in the Self-Administration Council and even recruited internal security force, Asayish. ‘Shingal for Yazidis’ indeed resonates positively with a significant portion of the population and the PKK successfully utilises a hearts and minds approach rather than coercion. However, the PKK’s radical leftist ideology could prove increasingly incompatible with a conservative Yazidi society in the longer-term.

The PKK has invested a considerable amount of energy into building its structures in Shingal and it is unlikely that it would accept a complete withdrawal from the area. Moreover, as the author’s interviews suggest, it apparently pursues the establishment of a permanent base in the Shingal mountain range which serves as a highly defendable safe haven overseeing the border with Syria.

Preventing the War?

Zekî Şengalî, PKK commander from Shingal, labelled clashes as not a ‘birakuji’ (Kurdish infighting) but as a ‘war of betrayal’. The PKK leadership further suggested in a statement that the fight was initiated after president Barzani’s visit to Turkey, calling Rojava Peshmerga Turkish proxies and vowing to defend Yazidis against them. That may be an explanation accepted within the PKK and its sympathisers but can hardly be maintained for the majority of Kurdish population, or the international community. The KDP seems to maintain the line of PM Nechirvan Barzani and his calls made in December 2016 for the PKK to leave to avoid military confrontation in the area. The Ministry of Peshmerga, now under KDP control, issued an inflammatory statement asserting that the Peshmerga move and deploy wherever they want to inside the KRI, referring to the Shingal district (which is indeed not part of the KRI, according to Iraqi law). The government in Baghdad itself has not so far issued any comments on the events in Shingal. Both the PKK and KDP put themselves at severe risk of losing wider support by inciting fighting within the ‘Kurdish house’.

Recommendations

While there is a strong rivalry between the KDP and the PKK, both would find it difficult to justify open conflict to their constituencies. Following the same uncompromising stances is indeed not constructive.

The KDP should come to terms with the PKK’s entrenched presence and considerable support; and the fact that this is hardly going to vanish overnight by the use of force. Similarly, the PKK should be open to compromise with the KDP. An overarching agreement not only on Shingal but also on Rojava with both sides’ interests being addressed is needed. Given the mistrust and strongly contradictory interests, fear for losing popular support does not seem to be a sufficient motivation.

In this regard, the US has a unique position to mediate and put pressure on both sides to strike such a deal since both the PKK affiliates in Syria and the KRG are its principal anti-IS allies in the region. The US has already been engaged, sending signals to both that Washington does not wish for confrontation. If the US wishes their allies on the ground to focus on combating IS and stabilisation rather than lashing out against each other, these efforts should be intensified.

Download policy brief here

 

Article Citation:  Kaválek, T. (2017) Yet Another War in Shingal: The Sword of Damocles, MERI Policy Brief. vol. 4, no. 3.


The views expressed in this publication are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of MERI.

 

Comments are closed.