ankara escort çankaya escort
Back

مستقبل الشرق الأوسط

لايزال الشرق الأوسط في حالة تغير مستمر وسيبقى كذلك لبعض الوقت ومن المحتمل أن يمر عقد أخر قبل أن أن يتم الوصول فى النهاية الى حالة توازن  في القوى. يجب على صناع السياسات في العراق واقليم كوردستان النظر بحذر في تطور ديناميات القوی المحركة وسياسات القوی العالمية والاقليمية قبيل إعداد استراتيجياتهم.

انقر هنا لتنزيل الملخص السياسي

كان من الممكن لقلة قليلة من الناس أن يتوقعوا النهاية المأساوية للنظام القديم (او المنظومة القديمة) للشرق الأوسط والذي صمد لعقود امام التحولات الكبرى في ديناميات (ومعادلات) القوى العالمية. إن منطقة الشرق الأوسط التي كانت تعد مهداً للحضارات ومصدر حيوي للطاقة العالمية اصبحت الأن محطاً للأزمات الأمنية والسياسية والاقتصادية، وحيث لاتنتهي فيها النزاعات والحروب المدمرة وحركة السكان المشردة. تعاني البلدان الضعيفة والمفككة والفاشلة في الشرق الأوسط من صعوبة التأقلم مع التطرف القومي والديني والطائفي النامي. والسؤال هو: الى أين يتجه الشرق الأوسط وماهي موقف الجهات المحلية في هذا المسلك؟ يمكن أن نجد الإجابة من خلال دراسة ديناميات القوی في الشرق الأوسط والتي من المرجح أن تحدد النظام المقبل للشرق الأوسط.

النظام القديم للشرق الأوسط

قسم البريطانيون والفرنسيون منطقة الشرق الأوسط بعد الحرب العالمية الاولى وأنشأوا العديد من الدول العميلة الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم كوسيلة لتأمين مصالحهم في المنطقة. وفي هذه العملية وضعوا أساساً لنظام الشرق الأوسط والذي بقى في محله حتى الحرب العالمية الثانية وبداية الحرب الباردة عندما هيمنت الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد السوفيتي على المشهد وأنشأوا نظام عالمي ثنائي القطب. أشعلت العديد من الانقلابات والثورات المنطقة وتم الاطاحة بعدة مماليك من قبل الأنظمة القومية العربية أو في حالة إيران من قبل جمهورية اسلامية جديدة. كانت هناك كذلك نزاعات حدودية وحروب طويلة كحرب اسرائيل مع العرب وحرب العراق مع ايران. بالرغم من هذه التحولات والانجرافات ظلت حدود مابعد الاستعمار التي رُسمت بين بلدان هذه المنطقة ثابتة بشكل صارم.

المرحلة الانتقالية

كان ينبغي لنظام الشرق الأوسط أن ينهار مع سقوط الاتحاد السوفيتي في 1989 وبعد انتهاء الحرب الباردة كما حصل  لنظام اوروبا الشرقية، إلا أنها بقيت ثابتة. وكان من المفترض أن يجلب الغزو العراقي في 2003 تغييراً شاملا ولكن موجة التغير بدأت من تونس في 2010. خلال فترة مايسمى بـ “الربيع العربي” اصبحت العديد من القوى العالمية والاقليمية والمحلية فاعلة ومتشابكة إلا انه لم تصل القوی المتشابكة الی حالة توازن مستقر حتى الان.

على الصعيد العالمي

بعد 1989 أصبحت الولايات المتحدة القوة العظمى الوحيدة التي كانت بوسعها أن تملأ الفراغ الذي تركه السوفياتيون. ومع ذلك فقصر النظر والتقلبات في السياسات الخارجية التي تبنتها ادارتي  حزبي الجمهوريون والديمقراطيون جعلت من الولايات المتحدة غير قادرة على اتباع مسار لإعادة تشكيل منطقة الشرق الأوسط. مع ذلك تبنت إدارة جورج دبليو بوش نهج المحافظين الجدد ذا المدى الطويل لتشكيل النظام الجديد للشرق الأوسط ، إلا أن إدارة اوباما عكست التيار بابتعادها عن الشرق الأوسط مع قبول نفوذ قوى اخرى في المنطقة.

لاتزال رؤی إدارة دونالد ترامب المقبلة غير قابلة للتنبؤ من حيث سياستها في الشرق الأوسط، حيث تظهر في بعض الاحيان المشاعر والرغبات المجردة لشخص ترامب عن السياسة الخارجية غير متوافقة. فيبدو أنه يرغب بعلاقة ودية مع روسيا ويدعم اسرائيل وكذلك الرجال الأقوياء في تركيا ومصر ولكنه يعادي وبدون تحفظات إيران التي تعد واحدة من أقوى حلفاء روسيا.

روسيا مرت بعدة عقود مضطربة بعد 1989 ولكنها الان ظهرت من جديد كقوة كبيرة وعادت الى الشرق الأوسط عبر إيران ونظام الأسد في سوريا. تستثمر روسيا بشكل فعال في علاقات ثنائية اخرى مع تركيا والعراق ومصر واليمن وحتى المملكة السعودية العربية وبالتالي يمكن القول بأنه سيكون لها تأثير متزايد على تشكيل النظام الجديد للشرق الأوسط.

على الصعيد الاقليمي

برزت إيران ومنذ انهيار الاتحاد السوفيتي كقوة اقليمية الأكثر تأثيراً في الشرق الأوسط وهي القوة الاقليمية الوحيدة التي تبدو انها تملك استراتيجية واضحة تنفذها بشكل فعال وبعزيمة مطلقة. وقد طغت الأن إيران على عمليات صنع القرار في العراق وسوريا واليمن ولبنان. بالطبع هناك حدود لقوة إيران لمواجهة صعوباتها ولكنها في وضع جيد لتتحدى به منافسين اخرين من دول الجوار ورسم المستقبل.

شهدت تركيا مشاكل داخلية لفترة طويلة وبدأت تضعف بشكل متزايد الى حين انتعشت فيها اقتصادها على يد الحزب الحاكم، حزب العدالة والتنمية الذي جاء الى السلطة في 2002. اصبحت تركيا وبسرعة قوة اقتصادية اقليمية هائلة مع نقاط قوة جغرافية سياسية مميزة، لكن ومع ذلك بقيت تركيا متشابكة في نزاعات داخلية وصراعات في القوة والاستقطاب التي أثرت سلباً على سياساتها في الخارج. لذا وعلى المدى الطويل لدى تركيا إمكانية أن تصعد وتهبط كقوة اقليمية. مع هذا ونظراً لموقعها الجغرافي الاستراتيجي سيكون دوماً لتركيا دوراً في تشكيل الأحداث على الأقل عبر حدودها الجنوبية.

اكتسبت المملكة العربية السعودية ودول الخليج مجتمعة دوراً مميزاً بشكل أساسي من خلال ثرواتها والهوية العربية والانتماء السني. بالرغم من أنهم يبقون في النهاية معتمدين بشكل عام على الولايات المتحدة لغرض حمايتهم  إلا انهم سيستمرون بالتأثير على الأحداث في انحاء الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.

على الصعيد المحلي

هناك العديد من القوی المحلية (حكومات ذات سيادة وحكومات محلية غير سيادية وقوی غير حكومية) المؤثرة على نحو متزايد على ديناميات القوی الاقليمية ويجب أن تؤخذ بنظر الاعتبار ضمن التنبؤات الخاصة بالنظام المستقبلي للشرق الأوسط.

القوی التي تمثل حكومات ذات سيادة وطنية  (كالعراق) ضعُفت بالحروب والتجزؤات الداخلية والتدخلات الخارجية ولكن لديها القدرة أن تنمو بشكل مستقل على نحو متزايد والتصرف كجهة مهمة مؤثرة علی مسرحي القوی المحلية والاقليمية.

القوی التي تمثل حكومات محلية غير سيادية (كحكومة اقليم كوردستان العراق) لديها صفة رسمية قانونية أو دستورية داخل الدول التي تتواجد فيها ولكنها تتصرف كقوى مستقلة مع حلفائها الدولية الخاصة بها. قد تطمح هذه الجهات أن تُصبح دول سيادية أو تكتسب حقوق سيادية أعظم داخل الدول القائمة فيها وبذلك ستلعب دوراً في تشكيل الأحداث.

تشمل القوی غير الحكومية طائفة واسعة من الكيانات المحلية المرتبطة الأن ارتباطاً وثيقاً (كوكلاء أو حلفاء) بالجهات الاخرى. وتتراوح هذه الجهات بين تلك التي اكتسبت شرعية اجتماعية وسياسية داخل بلدانها كالمليشيات الشيعية في العراق وسوريا ولبنان واليمن وليبيا وتلك التي تُعد مجموعات متطرفة غير شرعية أو ارهابيين مثل تنظيم القاعدة والنصرة. كل هذه الجهات غير الحكومية قادرة على التصرف باستقلالية للتأثير على الأحداث ونقل موازين القوى وكذلك التصرف كوكلاء لقوى اقليمية أكبر.

النظام الجديد للشرق الأوسط وتغيير الحدود

خلال المرحلة الانتقالية وظهور نظام جديد للشرق الأوسط من الممكن أن تتغير الحدود الداخلية بين المجتمعات داخل مناطق النزاع ولكن الحدود الخارجية أقل عرضة منها للتغيير. هنالك بالطبع العديد من المجتمعات العرقية أو الدينية في الشرق الأوسط التي تملك طموحات اقامة دولة ولكن وباستثناء اقليم كوردستان العراق فان تحقيق اقامة دولة في المستقبل القريب غير وارد، في حين قد تستمر نضال شعوب وكيانات  للاستقلال خصوصا لاولئك الذين لايجدون تحسن أكثر في عدالة السلطات ضمن الدول القائمة فيها.

في الختام

لايزال الشرق الأوسط في حالة تغيير مستمر ومن المحتمل أن يمر عقد أخر قبل الوصول الى ميزان في القوى فى النهاية. بعد ذلك قد تستمر النزاعات والمنافسات غير انها ستكون أكثر قابلية للتنبؤ والتحكم بها بشكل يسمح بتدفق ثابت في التجارة والسياسة.

يجب على صناع السياسة في العراق واقليم كوردستان الذين يرغبون في تصميم ومواصلة مسالكهم في المستقبل النظر بحذر في التيارات الخاصة بديناميات القوی وسياسات القوی العالمية والاقليمية قبيل إعداد استراتيجياتهم. سيجدون حتماً انفسهم بحاجة الى الاندماج وأحياناُ الى صف أنفسهم الى جانب قوى اقليمية وعالمية متنوعة وينبغي أن يتجنبوا الانجرار الى لعبة صراع العمالقة. إن صناع السياسة في العراق و اقليم كوردستان ليسوا في موقع لتغيير موازين القوى ويمكن أن يخرجوا أقوى إذا مابقوا محايدين نسبياً.

يجب على الحكومات الضعيفة مثل العراق (التي في الواقع فقدت سيادتها لصالح قوى خارجية) والحكومات المحلية غير السيادية كاقليم كوردستان العراق (التي تطمح أن تحصل على سيادة كاملة) أن تولي اهتماماً أكبر بالتهديدات التي تشكلها تنافس العمالقة الاقليمين والعالميين فضلاً عن خطورة القوی غير الحكومية والقادرة على تقويض مؤسسات الدولة. تستطيع المجاميع شبه العسكرية والمتطرفة، الشرعية منها والغير، أن تغمر الدول الضعيفة وتدفع بها الى الفشل في نهاية المطاف.

من أجل اجتياز المرحلة الانتقالية يجب على القادة في العراق واقليم كوردستان أن يستثمروا قدر أكبر في الطابع المؤسساتي لنظام الحكم ويمكن بذلك أن يصبحوا أقوى وأكثر مشاركة‌ وان يعززوا قدراتهم في التأثيرعلی الأحداث لصالحهم ،وذلك إذا مابقوا مركزين على الحكم الرشيد وسيادة القانون.

انقر هنا لتنزيل الملخص السياسي

 

 للإقتباس: Ala’Aldeen, D. (2016) The Future of the Middle East, MERI Policy Brief. vol. 3, no. 24.


الآراء الواردة في هذا المنشور تعکس آراء الكاتب ولا تمثل بالضرورة آراء مٶسسة الشرق الأوسط للبحوث.

Comments are closed.

Back

The Future of the Middle East

The Middle East is still in flux and will remain so for some time, it will possibly be another decade before the ultimate power balance is reached. Policy makers of Iraq and the KRI who wish to pursue paths of their own design, must look carefully at the trends in power dynamics and the policies of the global and regional powers before designing their strategies.

 

Download policy brief here

Very few people could have predicted the catastrophic end of the decades old Middle East Order (MEO), which outlasted the major shifts in global power dynamics. The region, considered the cradle of civilisation and a vital source of global energy, is now riddled with security, political and economic crises, with never-ending conflicts, destructive wars and population displacements. The weak, dysfunctional or failing states of the Middle East (ME) are struggling to cope with growing nationalist, religious, and sectarian extremism.  The question is, where is the ME heading and what are the local actors’ position on this path? The answer can be found through an examination of the evolution of the power dynamics in the ME, which is likely to determine the next MEO.

The Old Middle East Order

After the First World War, the British and French divided the ME and established numerous small and medium size client states as a way of securing their interests in the region. In this process, they laid the foundation of a MEO, which remained in place until after the Second World War and the start of the Cold War when the United States (US) and Soviet Union dominated the scene and established a bi-polar world order. Numerous coups and revolutions ignited the region, several monarchies were toppled by Arab nationalist regimes, or in the case of Iran by a new Islamic Republic. There were border disputes and protracted wars, such as the Israeli-Arab and Iraq-Iran wars. Despite these shifts and drifts, the post-colonial borders between states remained rigidly intact.

The Transition 

The Cold War MEO should have collapsed with the fall of the Soviet Union in 1989, akin to Eastern Europe, but it remained fixed. The Iraq invasion of 2003 was supposed to trigger change, but the wave started from Tunisia in 2010. During the so-called ‘Arab Spring’ numerous global, regional and local powers became active and intertwined but a stable equilibrium was not yet established.

Globally

After 1989, the US became the only superpower that could have filled the gap left by the Soviets. However, short termism and swings in foreign policies adopted by the alternating Republican and Democratic administrations rendered the US unable to pursue a course to reshape the ME. The George W. Bush administration did however adopt a long-term neoconservative approach to design a new MEO, but the Obama administration reversed the trend by distancing itself from the ME while accepting the influence of other powers in region.

The forthcoming Donald Trump administration remains unpredictable in terms of its ME policy. Trump’s abstract foreign policy sentiments and preferences at times appear to be irreconcilable. He seems to prefer an amicable relationship with Russia, and supports Israel as well as the strongmen of Turkey and Egypt, but unreservedly goes against Iran, which is one of Russia’s strongest allies.

Russia had a troubled couple of decades after 1989, but it has now re-emerged as a significant power and returned to the Middle East via Iran and the Assad Regime in Syria. Russia is actively investing in other bilateral relations with Turkey, Iraq, Egypt, Yemen and even Saudi Arabia and thus it could be argued that it will have an increasing influence over shaping the new MEO.

Regionally

Iran, since the collapse of the Soviet Union, has emerged as the most influential regional power in the ME.  It is the only regional power that appears to have a clear strategy which it executes hands-on with utter determination. It has now overwhelmed the decision-making processes in Iraq, Syria, Yemen and Lebanon.   Iran does have its limitations and difficulties, but is well placed to challenge other rivals in the neighbourhood and shape the future.

Turkey has long had internal problems and was growing increasingly weak, until its fortunes were revived by the current ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) when they came into power in 2002. Turkey fast became a formidable regional economic power with significant geopolitical strengths.  However, it has been increasingly entangled in internal conflicts, polarisation and power struggles which have negatively impacted on its policies abroad.  Therefore, in the long term, Turkey has the potential to both ascend and decline as a regional power. Nonetheless, due to its geostrategic position, Turkey will always have a role in shaping events, at least across its southern borders.

Saudi Arabia and the Gulf countries have collectively gained a significant role, mainly through their wealth, Arab identity and Sunni affiliation. Although they remain highly dependent on the US for their ultimate protection, they will continue to influence events across ME and North Africa.

Locally

There are numerous local (state, sub-state and non-state) actors that are increasingly influential in the regional power dynamics and must be factored into predictions about the future MEO.

Local State (or national) actors, such as Iraq, have been weakened by wars, internal fragmentation and external interventions, but have the potential to grow increasingly independent and act as important actors transcending from the local to the regional power plays.

Sub-state actors, such as the Kurdistan Regional Government of Iraq, have a formal or constitutional status within their states but have acted as independent powers with their own international alliances. These may aspire to become sovereign or acquire greater sovereignty within their states, and as such will play a part in shaping events.

Non-state actors include a broad spectrum of local entities, which are now inextricably linked (as proxies or allies) to other actors.  They range from those that have acquired social and political legitimacy inside their countries, such as the Shia militias of Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Yemen and Libya; and those that are considered illegitimate radicals or terrorists, such as Al-Qaida and Al-Nusra. All these non-state actors are able to act independently to influence events and shift power balances, but also act as proxies for larger regional powers.

The New Middle East Order and the Change of Borders

During the transitional phase and emergence of a new MEO, internal boundaries between communities may change within conflict zones, but external borders are much less likely to alter. There are of course many ethnic or religious communities in the ME with statehood aspirations, however, with the exception of the Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI), statehood gains in the near future are not likely. Whereas struggles for independence may continue for some time for those who do not settle for greater devolution of power within existing states.

In Conclusion

The Middle East is still in flux and will remain so for some time, it will possibly be another decade before the ultimate power balance is reached. Thereafter, conflicts and rivalries may continue, but will become more predictable and manageable, allowing for a steady flow of trade and politics.

Policy makers of Iraq and the KRI who wish to pursue paths of their own design, must look carefully at the trends in power dynamics and the policies of the global and regional powers before designing their strategies.  They will inevitably find themselves needing to engage, and at times align themselves, with various regional and global powers, they should avoid being drawn into the giants’ rivalries. They are not in a position to change the balances of power and would come out stronger if they remain relatively neutral.

Weak states, such as Iraq (that have in effect lost their sovereignty to external powers) and sub-states, such as the KRI (that are aspiring to gain ultimate sovereignty), must pay even more attention to the threats posed by the rivalry of regional and global giants, as well as the dangers of growing non-state actors who are capable of undermining state institutions. Para-militaries and radical groups, legitimate or not, can overwhelm weak states and drive them to ultimate failure.

To survive the transitional phase, the leaders of Iraq and the KRI must invest a great deal more in the institutionalisation of the governing system. They can become stronger, proactive and enhance their own capabilities to shape events to their best interest if they remain focussed on good governance, rule-of-law and inclusiveness.

Download policy brief here

 

Article Citation: Ala’Aldeen, D. (2016) The Future of the Middle East, MERI Policy Brief. vol. 3, no. 24.


The views expressed in this publication are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of MERI.

Comments are closed.