ankara escort çankaya escort
Back

السياسة الخارجية لترامب في الشرق الأوسط: أربع قضايا رئيسية

سيواجه قريباً الرئيس التالي للولايات المتحدة الامريكية دونالد ترمب صعوبة ترجمة خطاباته الانتخابية حول سياسته الخارجية التي يتبعها في الشرق الأوسط الى معطيات سياساتية وايجابية. لذا فهو على الأغلب مجبر أن يقدم اعترافات مهمة.

انقر هنا لتنزيل الملخص سياساتي

في 8 تشرين الثاني 2016 تم انتخاب دونالد ترامب الرئيس الـ45 للولايات المتحدة وتسارع العديد من القادة حول العالم بتهنأة الرئيس المنتخب الجديد لنصره في الانتخابات. إلا انه وبعد عام ونصف من الحملة الانتخابية هناك الكثير من الاسئلة المتعلقة ومازالت حول وجهة نظر ترامب تجاه السياسة الخارجية بشكل عام وتجاه الشرق الأوسط بشكل خاص. تُوضح هذه المقالة كيف من الممكن ان تبدو السياسة الخارجية لامريكا في المنطقة في السنوات الأربع القادمة وذلك من خلال التركيز على وجهة نظر ترامب حول أربع قضايا رئيسية. الصورة التي تظهر للعيان تتسم بالانعزالية المتمركزة على الداخل وهذه الصورة منبثقة بشكل رئيسي من نتائج ملموسة على المدى القصير تربط مابين افضلية للشؤون الداخلية و تشكيك حاد حول الانخراط بالشؤون الخارجية ومع ذلك فان ترامب مجبر على الأغلب أن يقدم اعترافات مهمة حول وعوده الانتخابية فيما إذا كان ينوي أن ينمي المصالح الوطنية للولايات المتحدة في المنطقة وبشكل خاص الأمن القومي.

صفقة ايران

لقد وعد ترامب مراراً وتكراراً أن يتخلص من صفقة السلاح النووي المعقودة مع ايران وفي الحقيقة فقد ذكر ترامب بأن الأولوية رقم واحد لديه ستكون بالتفكك من الصفقة الكارثية مع ايران ولكنه بعد ذلك اصبح يخفف من وطأته على الأمر ذاكراً بأنه يُفضل أن يُعيد التفاوض في بنود الصفقة. ومن هنا نطرح سؤالين: هل يستطيع ترامب أن ينهي الصفقة؟ وهل سينهيها؟

كاجابة لانتصار ترامب في الانتخابات قال الرئيس الايراني حسن روحاني ووزير الخارجية محمد ظريف بأن الادارة المستقبلية لامريكا ينبغي أن تمتثل للالتزامات الخاصة بالصفقة النووية المتعددة الاطراف وبأنه لايمكن أن تُقلب الصفقة بقرار حكومة واحدة. بما أن الصفقة مُصاغة كاتفاق تنفيذي يسمح بتجاوز الكونغرس المُعادي فان الرئيس الامريكي الجديد ترامب يستطيع بالحقيقة أن يستخدم سلطته التنفيذية لينسحب من الصفقة وإعادة فرض العقوبات الامريكية ولكن الصفقة المتعددة الاطراف تتضمن ستة دول اخرى بالاضافه الى الاتحاد الاوروبي والأمم المتحدة والذي لايمكن فيه الرئيس الامريكي المنتخب الجديد أن يُجبرهم أن يتبعوا خطاه. وفيما إذا لم يتبعوه فهنا ستخاطر امريكا كونها ستنعزل وستضع نفسها في موقع لاتستطيع فيه أن تستفيد من الصفقة ولا أن تفرض نظام متماسك وشديد من العقوبات على ايران.

بالاضافة الى ذلك فان الغاء او اعادة التفاوض حول الاتفاقية سيكون ذو تكلفة كبيرة على الصعيد الدبلوماسي والسياسي في الساحة الدولية حيث انه سيُحبط الحلفاء والمنافسين على السواء وسيُدمر مصداقية امريكا في الالتزام بالاتفاقيات الدولية التي يتفاوضون عليها ويبرمونها. من هنا فمن الوارد جداً أن الادارة القادمة لامريكا ستبحث عن طرق تُثبت فيها أن ايران تنتهك بنود الصفقة وذلك بدلاً من أن تُلغي أو تُعيد التفاوض في الصفقة كلياً وبذلك تكسب دعم الدول الاخرى لالغاء الصفقة.

 الصراع ضد تنظيم الدولة الاسلامية في سوريا والعراق

ستبقى الحرب ضد تنظيم الدولة الاسلامية في مقدمة اولويات الولايات المتحدة تحت رئاسة ترامب وبينما نجد أن ترامب يُعارض الوجود العسكري لامريكا في الساحة فانه مايزال يحتاج أن يبتكر استراتيجية طويلة المدى تتجه ببساطة الى أبعد من قصفهم للتنظيم. يبدو أن الرئيس الامريكي المنتخب الجديد يُريد أن ينفصل من العراق بشكل تام حيث انه وكما يقول ان “ايران تُسيطر الان على العراق وقد صرفنا ترليونين دولار على العراق وخسرنا الالاف من الأرواح ولدينا جنود جرحى وليس لدينا أي شيء، نحن حتى لانستطيع أن نذهب الى هناك وكل مرة نُعطي فيها معدات الى العراق فان أول ماتنطلق رُصاصة في الهواء فانهم يفرون”.

إن رأي ترامب السلبي تجاه الحكومة العراقية مغاير تماماً لمدحه للقوات الكردية وبادلائه بالحاجة الى قوات برية لمحاربة تنظيم الدولة الاسلامية فانه ينوي أن يحشد الدعم وبشكل مميز للمجموعات الكوردية التي تُقاتل تنظيم الدولة الاسلامية في سوريا والعراق. قام ترامب وفي عدة مقابلات بمدح المقاتلين الأكراد وبأنه سيُزيد دعم الولايات المتحدة قائلاً “يجب أن نُسلح الأكراد…لقد أثبتوا بأنهم الأكثر اخلاصاً لنا ولديهم قلوب كبيرة، وهم مقاتلون اشُداء وينبغي أن نعمل معهم أكثر”.

ليس واضحاً فيما إذا كان ترامب قد اخذ بعين الاعتبار النتائج التي تتأتى من الدعم العسكري المتزايد للأكراد دون بغداد حيث أنها سوف لن تُسبب فقط احتكاكاً بين الشركاء المتعاونين وانما معظم الأراضي المُسيطرة من قبل تنظيم الدولة الأسلامية بعيدة ايضاً عن المناطق الكوردية وبالرغم من تعبير ترامب المحبط بخصوص تريليونات الدولارات المصروفة من قبل الولايات المتحدة في العراق والعائد المنخفض الظاهر من هذا الاستثمار ففي الحقيقة ان رؤيته لايران وارثائها بأنها “تُسيطر على البلد ]اي العراق[” يقترح بأن التملص الكامل سوف لن تكون السياسه المُفضلة لديه بل وعوضاً عن ذلك فان حقيقة التكاليف الغارقة فيها امريكا والمربوطة بالعراق تعني أن ترامب يرغب بالاستمرار في دعم بغداد عسكرياً ومالياً وبشكل كبير وبشروط أكثر شدة.

 اسرائيل

ان موقف ترامب حيال اسرائيل يبدو معارضاً كلياً لاسلافه من الرؤوساء وفي الحقيقة إذا ماقدِم ترامب على تنفيذ وعوده الانتخابية فانها ستسير عكس السياسة الخارجية المتبعة في الولايات المتحدة والمتأصله لعقود. على سبيل المثال وعد ترامب أن يقر بالقدس كعاصمة لاسرائيل وبأن ينقل السفارة الامريكية من تل ابيب الى القدس. وبهذا سارع نتنياهو الى الاتصال بالرئيس المنتخب الجديد وتهنئته ومناداته بالصديق الحقيقي لاسرائيل وبالرغم من أن ترامب نفسه يرغب أن يرى فيما إذا كانت هناك إمكانية للتفاوض على السلام فانه لايُدين مسألة بناء اسرائيل للمستوطنات في الأراضي المستعمره ولايُفكر أيضاً أن تكون هناك مهلة خلال التفاوضات. على سبيل المثال في مقابلة له قال ترامب “ينبغي على اسرائيل أن تستمر بالمضي وينبغي أن تستمر في التقدم الى الأمام. كلا لاأعتقد أنه ينبغي أن تكون هناك مهلة”.

وبالتالي أشاد وزير التعليم المتشدد لاسرائيل نفتالي بينت بانتخابات ترامب معتبراً إياها نهاية للحل الخاص بالدولتين في حين دعا وزير العلوم الاسرائيلي اوفير اكونز مباشرةً لبناء مستوطنات أكثر في الجناح الغربي.

افغانستان

إن رأي ترامب تجاه افغانستان يعد انعزالياً بشكل واضح وذلك تماشياً مع وجهات نظره تجاه العراق. فبالرغم من ان الحرب في افغانستان حصل على اهتمام ضئيل من قبل كلا المرشحين خلال الحملة الانتخابية فان ترامب كان يدعو باستمرار لسحب كامل للقوات الامريكية وفي شريط فيديو قصير محمل على اليوتيوب بتأريخ 12 أذار 2012 أشار الى افغانستان على انها “كارثة كلية كاملة” وذلك قبل أن يجادل بمسألة “أنه ينبغي أن تُصرف الأموال على بلدنا … دعونا نخرج من افغاستان”. وفي مناسبة اخرى حديثاً في 11 كانون الثاني 2013 غرد قائلاً “دعونا نخرج من افغانستان. إن جنودنا يتم قتلهم على ايدي الأفغان الذين ندربهم ونبذر البلايين هناك. هذا هراء! لنعيد بناء الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.”

مع تدهور الموقف الأمني بمرور الوقت، تُسيطر قوات طالبان الأن على أراضي أكثر من أي وقت سابق منذ 2001. بالأضافة الى ذلك فان المنظمات الارهابية كالقاعدة وتنظيم الدولة الأسلامية قد بدأوا بالحصول على موطئ قدم جديد في البلد وبعد أكثر من 15 عاماً من بدء الحرب مازالت القاعدة تملك مرافق تدريبية في البلد. بما ان سحب الجيش قبيل أن تكون الحكومة المحلية مستعدة لتسلم زمام الأمور يعد خطراً فان الرئيس اوباما كان قد وعد بابقاء 8400 جندي امريكي منتشر في البلد حتى نهاية مدة حكمه وترك الأمر لخليفه لعمل تقليلات اخرى. لقد عبر ترامب عن رغباته بشكل واضح ولكنه إن كان مصراً على سحب القوات فان الولايات المتحدة ستحتاج أن تعمل بشكل أقرب مع ايران وكما عملوا به من قبل. لذا ينبغي على الرئيس المستقبلي ترامب أن يناور بشكل حذر من أجل أن يخفف الصدام بين الرغبة في “الانفصال” أو اعادة التفاوض في مسألة صفقة ايران ورغبته في ترك افغانستان.

 العالم الجغرافي السياسي المجرد من التقدم المباشر

ليس من السهل على ترامب أن يوازن بين رؤيته الانعزالية الخاصة بالابتعاد عن شؤون العراق والانسحاب من افغانستان وأهدافة السامية طويلة الأمد حيال تطوير الأمن القومي الامريكي ومحاربة الارهاب. تستطيع امريكا أن تنسحب فقط إذا كانت تؤسس وتحافظ على علاقات قوية مع الشركاء المحليين وهذا الأمر لايتطلب فقط مزيداً من الوقت وإنما الى إقامة علاقات متوازنة ودقيقة في المنطقة بما فيها علاقات امريكا مع دولة اسرائيل وكذلك مع الأكراد في العراق وسوريا. بالأضافة الى ذلك فان هذا الأمر محل تهديد من شأنه أن يُطيح برغبته في الغاء صفقة ايران لذا يحتاج ترامب أن يُدلي باعترافات بخصوص وعوده الانتخابية. على الرغم من أنه سيكون سهلاً ومغرياً بالنسبة اليه أن يُكثف دعمه وبشكل غير مشروط لاسرائيل إلا ان هذا سيعزل امريكا من المنطقة وذلك من خلال ابعاد شركاء اخريين منتجة عن ذلك تقويض وهدم للأهداف الطويلة المدى في الحرب ضد الارهاب.

أما بالنسبة للكورد في العراق فمن الممكن أن يكون مغرياً لهم أن يركبوا موجة الدعم الترامبية على أكمل وجه ذلك لأنها قد تساعد في دفع هدفهم الخاص بالاستقلال. ومع ذلك على الكورد في العراق أن يكونوا يقيظين للمخاطر ويوازنوا علاقتهم مع الولايات المتحدة بحذر وذلك لتجنب الاحتكاك مع الممثلين الاقليمين الاخرين كتركيا وايران والسعودية العربية وبغداد.

 

  انقر هنا لتنزيل الملخص سياساتي

 

 للإقتباس: van Zoonen, D. (2016) Trump’s Foreign Policy in the Middle East: Four Key Issues, MERI Policy Brief. vol. 3, no. 18.


الآراء الواردة في هذا المنشور تعکس آراء الكاتب وليس بالضرورة مٶسسة الشرق الأوسط للبحوث.

Comments are closed.

Back

Trump’s Foreign Policy in the Middle East: Four Key Issues

Donald Trump, the next President of the United States, will soon be confronted with the difficulty of translating campaign rhetoric regarding his foreign policy in the Middle East into policy and positive outcomes. He is thus likely to be forced to make significant concessions.

Download the policy brief here

On 8th November 2016 Donald J. Trump was elected as the 45th president of the United States (US). Many foreign leaders around the world were quick to congratulate the new President-elect on his victory. Yet, even after a year-and-a-half long campaign, many questions regarding Trump’s views on foreign policy in general and towards the Middle East in particular are still outstanding. This brief examines what US foreign policy in the region may look like over the next four years by focusing on Trump’s views on four key policy issues. The image that emerges is that of an inward-looking isolationist, driven mainly by short-term tangible outcomes, combining a preference for domestic spending with deep scepticism of foreign engagement. Nonetheless, Trump is likely to be forced to make significant concessions with regards to his electoral promises if he is to advance US national interests in the region, in particular national security.

The Iran Deal

Trump has repeatedly promised to scrap the Nuclear Deal (JCPoa) with Iran. In fact, he stated it would be his “number-one priority to dismantle the disastrous deal with Iran.” He later appeared to back-peddle somewhat by stating he would rather renegotiate the terms of the deal.  Hence two questions arise: Can he end the deal? And will he?

In response to Trump’s victory, Iranian President Rouhani and Foreign Minister Mohammed Zarif said the future US administration should comply “to the commitments of the multilateral Nuclear Deal” and that the deal “cannot be overturned by one government’s decision.” However, as the deal is structured as an executive agreement, allowing it to bypass a hostile Congress, newly elected President Trump could actually use his executive powers to withdraw from the deal and re-impose US sanctions. The multilateral deal however does involve six other countries, as well as the European Union and the United Nations, who the newly elected president cannot force to follow suit. If they don’t, the US risks being isolated, in a position neither able to benefit from the deal nor able to impose a tough coherent regime of sanctions on Iran.

Moreover, cancelling or re-negotiating the agreement will come at significant cost, both diplomatically and politically, in the international arena. It will frustrate allies and rivals alike, and damage the US’ credibility to honour the international agreements they negotiate. Hence, it is highly likely the next US administration will seek ways to prove Iran is violating the terms of the agreement, rather than cancelling or renegotiating the deal outright, thus gaining other countries’ support to cancel the deal.

The fight against the Islamic State (IS) in Syria and Iraq

The war against IS will remain a top priority for the US under Trump. While he opposes American boots on the ground, Trump still needs to devise a long-term strategy that goes beyond simply bombing them. The new President-elect appears to want to disengage from Iraq completely, as he opined: “Iran is now taking over Iraq. We spent two trillion dollars in Iraq. We lost thousands of lives, we have wounded soldiers. And we have nothing. We can’t even go there. And every time we give equipment to Iraq, the first time a bullet goes off in the air they leave it.”

His negative view towards the Iraqi government is starkly contrasted by his praising of Kurdish forces. Acknowledging the need for ground forces in fighting IS, he intends to significantly ramp up support for the Kurdish groups fighting IS in Syria and Iraq. In several interviews, he praised the Kurdish fighters and said he would increase US support: “We should be arming the Kurdish… they have proven to be the most loyal to us… they have great hearts, they’re great fighters, and we should be working with them much more.”

It is unclear whether Trump has considered the implications of increasing military support for the Kurds and not Baghdad, not only will it cause friction between cooperating partners, but most IS-held territory is also far away from Kurdish areas. Despite Trump expressing frustration about the trillions of dollars spent by the US in Iraq and the seemingly low return on investment, the fact that he views and laments Iran as “taking over the country” suggests complete disengagement will not be his preferred policy. Instead, the reality of the sunk costs associated with Iraq means Trump is likely to continue supporting Baghdad both militarily and financially, possibly with stricter conditions.

Israel

Trump’s stance on Israel seems diametrically opposed to his predecessor. In fact, if Trump follows through on his campaign promises, it would go against decades of US foreign policy. For instance, he has pledged to recognise Jerusalem as Israel’s capital and promised to move the US Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem. Netanyahu was quick to contact and congratulate the new President-elect calling him “A true friend of Israel.” Although Trump himself would “love to see if peace can be negotiated” he does not condemn Israel’s building of settlements in occupied territories, nor does he think there should be a pause during negotiations. In one interview for instance Trump said: “Israel should – they have to keep going. They have to keep moving forward. No, I don’t think there should be a pause.”

In accordance, Israel’s hard-line Education Minister, Naftali Bennet, hailed Trump’s election as signalling the end of the two-state solution, while Israel’s Science Minister, Ofir Akunis, immediately called for more settlements to be built in the West Bank.

Afghanistan

Consistent with his views on Iraq, Trump’s attitude towards Afghanistan is distinctly isolationist. Although the war in Afghanistan got scant attention from both candidates during the campaign, Trump has consistently called for a complete withdrawal of US troops. In a short YouTube video uploaded on the 12th March 2012 he referred to Afghanistan as a “total and complete disaster” before arguing “money should be spent in our country… let’s get out of Afghanistan.” Most recently, on the 11th January 2013, he also tweeted: “Let’s get out of Afghanistan. Our troops are being killed by the Afghanis we train and we waste billions there. Nonsense! Rebuild the USA.”

With the security situation deteriorating over time, the Taliban now controls more territory than at any time since 2001. Moreover, terrorist organisations such as Al-Qaeda and IS have started to gain new footholds in the country. More than 15 years after the war started, Al-Qaeda still has training facilities in the country. Since withdrawing the army before local government is ready to take over is dangerous, President Obama has promised to keep 8,400 US soldiers deployed until the end of his term and leave it up to his successor to order further reductions. Trump has made his preference clear, but if he is adamant about withdrawing forces, the US will need to work more closely with Iran as they have done before. Therefore, future President Trump will have to manoeuvre carefully to ease the friction between wanting to “tear up” or re-negotiate the Iran Deal and his desire to leave Afghanistan.

The not-so-straight-forward world of geo-politics

It will not be easy for Trump to streamline his isolationist vision of disengaging with Iraq and withdrawing from Afghanistan with the overarching long-term objective of advancing American national security and combatting terrorism. The US can withdraw only if it establishes and maintains strong relations with local partners. This not only requires much more time but also a careful balancing of relations in the region, including with the state of Israel and the Kurds in Iraq and Syria. It also threatens to be undermined by his desire to cancel the Iran Deal. Trump will therefore need to make serious concessions regarding his electoral promises. Although it would be easy and tempting for him to unconditionally ramp up support for Israel, this would isolate America in the region by alienating other partners thus undermining longer-term objectives in the war against terrorism.

For the Iraqi Kurds on their part, it may be tempting to ride the wave of Trumpian support to the fullest, as it could help advance their goal of independence. However, they should be mindful of the pitfalls and carefully balance their relationship with the US to avoid friction with other regional actors such as Turkey, Iran, Saudi Arabia and Baghdad.

 

Download the policy brief here


Article Citation: van Zoonen, D. (2016) Trump’s Foreign Policy in the Middle East: Four Key Issues, MERI Policy Brief. vol. 3, no. 18.


The views expressed in this publication are those of the author and do not necessarily represent views of MERI.

Comments are closed.